The Portsmouth Circumcision Register Reviewed / by Henry Roche (revised 2011)

THE PORTSMOUTH CIRCUMCISION REGISTER REVIEWED

by Henry Roche (2008, revised October 2010 and May 2011)

Levy Isaac's Portsmouth Circumcision Register is a document of unique genealogical and historic importance.    It spans the years 1762-1807, predating by at least two generations the Portsmouth congregation's own vital registers, which do not begin until 1837.   Cecil Roth brought the Circumcision Register to public attention in his well known 1936 paper on the old Portsmouth community in the Transactions of the Jewish Historical Society of England (TJHSE) vol. XIII;  then fifteen years later, in TJHSE vol. XVII, Eugene Newman published his translation of the complete text, with a scholarly and informative accompanying article, and so in 1951 the Register became available for general study and research.

 

The Register itself is a small, almost pocket-sized notebook, bound in black leather or a similar material.   The entries cover 24 of its 38 pages, with the pages following the final entry left empty.  It is kept in Portsmouth Synagogue's archives.   I saw it on my earliest visits there in 1986, but had no urgent reason at that time to examine it in detail.   It then mysteriously disappeared, as I mentioned in my 1994 article on Portsmouth sources in Shemot 2/1, and was in fact "lost" for some 18 years.  Very fortunately it was rediscovered by the synagogue officials in November 2004, and was examined on December 5th 2004 at the synagogue by Richard Cooper and myself, Richard making a permanent digital photographic record of each page.  

 

I began in the late 1980's to compile the "Portsmouth Jewish Index" (PJI), on the twin foundations of Newman's translation of the Circumcision Register and my own study and analysis of the old Portsmouth Minute Book, which covers the years 1764-1840.   As this index developed, I started to notice that one or two details in the Newman transcription did not correspond quite as expected with similar names in the PJI.   So I am delighted to have at last been able to examine the original Hebrew spelling of some of the more unusual or doubtful personal and topographical names, and to present here a detailed review of Newman's transcription, with a new annotated list of all the fathers' names.  

 

Levy Isaac's Hebrew name was Judah Leib ben Isaac, but he was known to all in the local Jewish community as Reb Leib Aleph.   He states at the head of the Register that he was born in Aub in Frankenland (Franconia) on 8th Shebat 5483 (14th January 1723, though the "old style" English date was Jan. 3rd;  the Bavarian village of Aub lies some twenty miles SSE of Würzburg).    He lived in Portsmouth from 1762 until his death in January 1814;  he and his wife Boonley died within a few days of each other, and share a joint gravestone in the Portsmouth cemetery.  Some of his own relatives are found among the circumcision entries; and his own son Joel, born c.1760, began to assist him as mohel from 1784 (entry no. 63).  

 

The Register contains 113 circumcisions;  Levy Isaac numbered all the entries, except the one between nos. 74 and 75 (which I number as 74a). It is written entirely in Rabbinic Hebrew, but with an occasional Yiddish word or phrase.   The earlier pages are in a neat, almost minuscule hand;  but then in 1784 the writing becomes larger and more irregular, with correspondingly fewer entries to the page.    (It may be worth noting that it is precisely at this point that his son Joel began to assist him.)    In this rougher handwriting of his later years is the date of his own birth which he added onto the opening statement of his own name and birthplace, just as Newman points out in the second paragraph of his article.   But Newman's further statement, that the same change of hand is found within entries 19 and 21, could be misleading:  it is clear from the manuscript that both these long and important entries were neatly inscri- bed at or near the original time, with only the final words (that Newman brackets) perhaps added later. 

 

The early entries of the Register tend to present a fairly full version of the father's Hebrew name, often adding a topographical name (toponym) indicating a town of origin.   But from about no. 21 (1767), as the congregation was entering its third decade and an increasing number of parents were actually Portsmouth-born, such toponyms are less commonly included, and in fact even the father's patronymic may well be omitted if the congregation at the time happened to have only one husband of that given name of child-producing age.   Thus, for example, no. 24 in the annotated list of fathers' names is consistently entered as plain "Benjamin Levi";  he is in fact Benjamin b. Simon Levi (English name Woolf SIMONS), and is to be distinguished from Benjamin (Wolf) b. Jacob Levi (Benjamin LEVI), who

 

was some thirty years older (he was one of the founders of the congregation, and my own ancestor - he was father of no. 35, and is named in the register as father-in-law of no. 21).    Similarly, no. 44 is entered simply as "Asher Lemla", being the only man of that name in the community;  only at his fifth and sixth entries (nos. 75 and 79, in 1789 and 1792) is he called "Asher Lemla b. Pinhas Isaac", and it seems no coincidence that in 1789 another Asher (b. Zvi, no. 77) first appears in the Portsmouth Minute Book.   

 

Levy Isaac also carefully records whether the ceremony takes place in the old or the new synagogue.   Both Roth and Newman provide invaluable insight into the famous 23-year "split" between the Old and New Congregations in Portsmouth.   Levy Isaac was in Newman's words actually the "guiding spirit" behind the breakaway New Congregation, based in Daniel's Row, Portsea.  The dispute was recorded in February 1766 in the Minute Book of the old (White's Row) synagogue, including the full member-ships of the two rival groups.  In 1774 a compromise was reached, with Levy Isaac performing circum- cisions in either synagogue;  the split was finally healed, and full unity restored, in the summer of 1789.     Analysis of the membership of the two congregations can be of the greatest genealogical value, and is particularly enlightening where two individuals with similar names have needed distinguishing from each other.   Unfortunately no minute book survives for the New Congregation - which probably helps to explain the lack of supplementary information on a few of the fathers named in the Register. 

 

Newman, on p.252 of his article, seems to state that Levy Isaac circumcised most or even all the Jewish boys born in Portsmouth over the 45 years covered by the Register, with the sole exception of the period 1766-1773 (during which years the Old Congregation employed a mohel from London).   This statement may well hold good for the years before 1784:  even though there is a marked preponderance of future New Congregation members among the pre-1766 entries, there is little evidence for any local male births other than those registered, for either 1762-1766 or 1774-1783.   But from 1784, the year Joel began to assist his father, we find an increasing number of Portsmouth-born Jewish males whose births are not recorded in Levy Isaac's Register, and it seems to me fairly probable that Joel very soon set up as a mohel in his own right for the expanding local community.   Entry no. 64 in the Register seems a clear reference to this.   (It is noteworthy that the previous year 1783 (nos.53-60) saw as many as eight circumcisions.)     If such was the case, Joel may very well have performed circumcisions more frequently than his father from then on.  He nevertheless continues to be shown as assisting his father on some twenty occasions up to 1803, though only within the local Portsmouth and Gosport area.  

 

The towns outside Portsmouth where Levy's circumcisions occasionally took place are listed by Newman at the end of his introductory article.   The last such ceremony was in fact in Poole in 1790 (no. 76).    Newman's inclusion of "circumcisions from Rochford (in Essex)" in his list is inaccurate -  the parents in question, the brothers Philip and David Barnard from Rochford, were both resident in Portsmouth well before these children were born (nos. 97, 103 and 109).

 

            *           *           *           *           *           *           *           *

 

Here below is Newman's full translation of the Circumcision Register, with "English" dates added, followed by my complete annotated list of the fathers' (Hebrew) names in the Register.  The two lists may thus be studied in conjunction.   In both lists, my amendments to Newman are marked with an *asterisk.   Apart from date adjustments, particular attention is drawn to the following emendations:

 

No. 6:   The register has Melrin, as also at no. 95.   Did Newman have a reason to transcribe this as                        "Merlin"?

No. 40:  Judah from Hartheim (not "the Hard") - a member of the Plymouth congregation, married to                      Levy Isaac's daughter Nandel.

No. 50:  The toponym is Bruck, not Marburg.  The baby is Samson, not Simeon.

No. 82:  Not Jobman but Chapman (טשאבמאן - Joseph's surname).

No. 98:  Newman translates Ari into "Lion" (as at no. 94, though not at no. 47), but neither version                             seems to correspond with any known person.

No. 99:  The true reading Ari for Newman's Uri had long been surmised by me, as the name Solomon                     b. Uri was unknown in Portsmouth.

No.104:  Feis Aaron, not Aaron Feis.

 

 

                                   

The Circumcision Register, 5522-5567 (1762-1807), in Eugene Newman's full translation,        with amendments (*starred) by Henry Roche.     English dates are also added in square brackets [ ].  Circumcisions are normally on the 8th day (inclusive) from birth date (which could include previous evening).

        I, Judah Leib son of Reb Isaac, of the holy Congregation of Aub, near Würzburg, in [Bavaria] *Franconia, who is called by everyone in Portsmouth Reb Leib Aleph, was born on 8th Shebat [583] *483 [=5483] [14.1.1723], in the Holy Congregation of Aub.

  • 1. I began to perform the rite of circumcision on my brother-in-law's son, Israel son of Mordecai Moses, of Erlang, in *Swabia (Schwaben) [i.e. performed in Swabia], and the name of his son is Mordecai son of Israel, on the Eve of Sabbath, 6th Tebeth 522 [5522: *1.1.1762].
  • 2. On 8th Tammuz 522 [29.6.1762*], in Portsmouth, I circumcised the son of my brother-in-law, Judah son of Eleazar, of Somerich, and his name is Zisel Eleazar son of Judah.
  • 3. 4th Ab which is Sabbath Hazon 522 [24.7.'62], I circumcised Meir son of Eleazar, of Ansbach, in the Holy Congregation of Portsmouth.
  • 4. 2nd Day of Tabernacles 523 [3.10.1762], I circumcised Zisel, son of my brother-in-law, Judah son of Moses, of Wiesenfeld, in the Holy Congregation of Portsmouth.
  • 5. 8th Kislev 523 [24.11.1762], I circumcised Barukh son of Eleazar of Fürth, in the Holy Congregation of Portsmouth.
  • 6. 18th Tebeth 523 [3.1.1763], I circumcised Judah Yadla son of Joseph Merlin *Melrin, in Winchester, and I took there a Minyan from the Holy Congregation of Portsmouth.
  • 7. On Sunday, 4th day of the Intermediate days of Passover, 524 [22.4.1764], I circumcised Joseph (Yuzev), son of Isaac Standel, a teacher in Portsmouth.
  • 8. On Sabbath, 25th [*26th?] Nisan 524, I circumcised Elhanan son of Judah Leib Levi of Königsberg, in Portsmouth. [*Sabbath was 26 Nisan = 28.4.1764]
  • 9. On Sabbath, 22nd Heshvan, 525 [17.11.1764], I circumcised Jacob son of Judah Leib *Levi of Wiesenfeld, in Portsmouth.
  • 10. On the Eve of the New Moon of Adar 525 [21.2.1765], I circumcised Aaron son of Solomon, in Portsmouth.
  • 11. 19th Ab 525 [6.8.1765], I circumcised David son of Judah Leib *Levi, of Königsberg, in Portsmouth.
  • 12. On the Eve of Sabbath Teshuvah, 5th Tishri 526 [20.9.1765], I circumcised Joshua son of Moses Levi, in Portsmouth.
  • 13. 20th Iyar 526 [29.4.1766], I circumcised Selig Isaac son of Jacob Cohen of Lautersbach, in Portsmouth.
  • 14. 20th Tammuz 526 [27.6.1766], I circumcised David son of my brother-in-law, Judah of Somerich, in Portsmouth.
  • 15. 23rd Ab 526 [29.7.1766], I circumcised Jacob Kopel son of Joseph, in Winchester.
  • 16. On Sabbath, in the Intermediate Days of the Feast of Tabernacles, 527 [19.9.1766], I circumcised Moses son of Meir, and he is the first whom I circumcised in the New Synagogue in Daniel's Row which was built in Portsmouth and consecrated on Sabbath Nahamu 526 [19.7.1766] for the grandson of the Haham Zbi, and his name is Israel Meshullam son of Rabbi Jacob Emden, who is the Rabbi of the Hambro' Synagogue and of the New Synagogue, London. And he will also be the Rabbi of Portsmouth, because he had 16 votes and the Rabbi of Duke's Place had only 8 votes to be the Rabbi here. The above-mentioned 8 people sent the Rabbinical Letter of Engagement to the Rabbi of the Duke's Place to be the Rabbi here. And I with 15 people sent the Rabbinical Letter of Engagement to the Rabbi of the Hambro' Synagogue. Therefore we built another Synagogue in Daniel's Row. And our Rabbi he was, and will be until the day of his death.
  • 17. 28th First Adar [27.2.1767], I circumcised Joel son of Judah Levi, called Leib Wiesenfeld, in Portsmouth.
  • 18. On the Eve of Sabbath, 25th Nisan 527 [24.4.1767], I circumcised Abraham son of Doctor Jacob, of Wetzlar, in Portsmouth.
  • 19. 17th Ab 527 [12.8.1767], I circumcised Michael son of Samuel, called Sanwel [*Zanvil] son of Menahem of Senfeld, in Oderwald. The Synagogue excommunicated me because of the part I played in the matter of the Rabbi, mentioned number 16, namely, that I should not be allowed to perform the rite of circumcision in the White's Row Synagogue. They founded a Society for the purpose and whenever necessary they brought down a Mohel from London. Once it happened that they ordered a Mohel from London, but he did not turn up on the eighth day. The father of the child came to ask me to circumcise his son. I said that I will do it provided he brought the child to my Synagogue in Daniel's Row. Abraham Balak with all his Congregation said: "God forbid." But that I must circumcise the child in their Synagogue "White's Row"! The father of the child came with a most pressing request, crying bitterly, saying, that he is a poor man and if he allowed his son to be circumcised in the New Synagogue, Wolf Levi threatened him that he would stop

giving him merchandise.   In the afternoon, however, I circumcised the child in the house of Moses Levi, so that, God forbid, circumcision should not be annulled among the children of Israel.  Moreover, since the father of the child is a poor man people should not say that I took revenge on a poor man (which he then was).

  • 20. 22nd Elul 527 [16.9.1767], I circumcised Tevele David son of Mordecai a silver smith, of Lublin, in the New Synagogue, in Portsmouth.
  • 21. On Sunday, 2nd day of the Intermediate Days of Tabernacles 528 [11.10.1767], I circumcised Moses son of Israel Cohen, son of *called Lima Cohen, son-in-law of Wolf Levi, that he may make peace between us. For the sake of peace I circumcised the child in White's Row Synagogue. Peace will reign between us until a new Synagogue will be built in White's Row. Then it was proclaimed in White's Row Synagogue that all is null and void and that they will destroy my Synagogue. They have taken all they could from my Synagogue in Portsmouth. Quarrels broke out afresh (and destroyed the New Synagogue).
  • 22. On Sabbath, 3rd Tammuz, 528 [18.6.1768], I circumcised Yehiel Michael son of Naphtali Herz [*Hirtz], in Portsmouth Common, in the New Synagogue, in Daniel's Row.
  • 23. On Sabbath, 14th Tammuz, 530* [7.7.1770], I circumcised Solomon Zalman son of Jacob Cohen, in the New Synagogue, in Daniel's Row, Portsmouth Common.
  • 24. New Moon of Ab, on the Eve of Sabbath, 531 [12.7.1771], I circumcised Elijah son of Benjamin Levi, of Bath near Bristol, who came here with the child who was six weeks and four days old when he was circumcised.
  • 25. On the New Moon of Iyar 532 [4.5.1772], I circumcised Herz [*Hirtz], son of Judah Levi of Wiesenfeld, in the New Synagogue, Daniel's Row, in Portsmouth Common.
  • 26. Sabbath, 4th Adar, 533 [27.2.1773], I circumcised Zisel Eleazar son of Simeon, in the New Synagogue, Daniel's Row, Portsmouth Common.
  • 27. Thursday, 12th Sivan 533 [3.6.1773], I circumcised Alexander son of Judah Levi, called Leib Wiesenfeld, in the New Synagogue, Daniel's Row, in Portsmouth Common.
  • 28. Tuesday, 12th Tammuz 534 [21.6.1774], I circumcised Moses son of Akiba in the Old Synagogue, in Portsmouth.
  • 29. Sabbath, 20th Elul 534 [27.8.1774], I circumcised Moses son of Jacob Cohen, in the New Synagogue in Portsmouth Common.
  • 30. On Eve of Sabbath, 12th Shebat, 535 [13.1.1775], I circumcised Abigdor son of Reb Joseph, Reader of the New Synagogue, Daniel's Row, Portsmouth.
  • 31. On the New Moon of Sivan 535 [30.5.1775], I circumcised Zisel Eleazar son of Israel Isserle [-lah*], in the New Synagogue, in Portsmouth.
  • 32. On Eve of Sabbath, 20th Elul 535 [15.9.1775], I circumcised Yekuthiel son of Judah Levi, called Leib Wiesenfeld, in the New Synagogue, in Portsmouth.
  • 33. Wednesday, 24th Shebat, 536 [14.2.1776], I circumcised Judah son of Gabriel, in the Old Synagogue, in Portsmouth.
  • 34. Wednesday, 5th First Adar 537 [12.2.1777], I circumcised Mordecai son of Simeon son of Eleazar, in the New Synagogue, in Portsmouth.
  • 35. On Eve of Sabbath, 13th Tammuz 537 [18.7.1777], I circumcised Solomon son of Jacob Levi *PḤ, in the Old Synagogue, White's Row, Portsmouth.
  • 36. Monday, 12th Shebat 538 [9.2.1778], I circumcised Judah Leib son of Isaac Zekhariah, in the Old Synagogue, in Portsmouth.
  • 37. Tuesday, 8th Iyar 538 [5.5.1778], I circumcised Issakhar Bear son of Benjamin Levi, in the New Synagogue, Portsmouth.
  • 38. On Eve of Sabbath, 5th Elul 538 [28.8.1778], I circumcised Isaac son of Judah Lima Cohen, in Cowes, Isle of Wight.
  • 39. Monday, 7th Tishre 539 [28.9.1778], I circumcised Barukh son of Israel Isserle [-lah*], in the New Synagogue, Daniel's Row, Portsmouth.
  • 40. 8th day of Solemn Assembly, Tuesday, 22nd Tishri 539 [13.10.1778], I circumcised my grandson, Abraham son of Judah Yadla [(?) of The Hard] from *Hartum [Hartheim] in the New Synagogue, Portsmouth.
  • 41. Monday, 22nd *28th Tishre 539 [19.10.1778], I circumcised Jonah son of Jacob Levi *PḤ, in the Old Synagogue,Portsmouth.
  • 42. On Eve of Sabbath, 26th Shebat, 539 [12.2.1779], I circumcised Judah Leib son of Zvi in the New Synagogue, in Portsmouth.
  • 43. Monday, 27th Adar 539 [15.3.1779], I circumcised Simhah son of Yehiel, in the Old Synagogue, Portsmouth.
  • 44. Tuesday [*Wednesday(?)], 23rd Tammuz 540 [26.7.1780], I circumcised Selig Pinhas son of Asher Lemla, in the New Synagogue, Portsmouth. [*22nd Tammuz = Tuesday, 23rd = Wednesday]
  • 45. Monday, 1st of the Intermediate Days of the Feast of Tabernacles, 17th Tishri 541 [16.10.'80], I circumcised Simeon son of Benjamin Levi, in the New Synagogue, in Portsmouth.
  • 46. On Sabbath, 20th Heshvan, 541* [18.11.1780], I circumcised Alexander son of Solomon in a carpenter shop in White's Row at the time when the New *new Synagogue was built in White's Row, Portsmouth, because he did not want his son to be circumcised in the New Synagogue in Daniel's Row.
  • 47. On Sabbath, 7th Tammuz 541 [30.6.1781], I circumcised Aryeh Judah son of Zvi in the New Synagogue, Daniel's Row, Portsmouth.
  • 48. Thursday, 19th Kislev 542 [6.12.1781], I circumcised Shalom son of Alexander who is called Sender [,] Jeweller, in the New [*i.e. new Old] Synagogue in White's Row and they have also dedicated a new Circumcisional Chair. But the Wardens and Leaders of the mentioned synagogue put up ordinary people (or young men) to buy Aliyoth [to be called up to reading of the Law] and spitefully would not let me have an Aliyah [to be called up to the Law], in Portsmouth.
  • 49. On the Eve of the New Year which is 29th Elul, 542* [8.9.1782], I circumcised Judah son of Samuel Sanwel [*Zanvil] in the Synagogue in White's Row, Portsmouth.
  • 50. Sunday, 12th Heshvan 543 [20.10.1782], I circumcised Simeon *Samson (Shimsha) son of Zvi of Marburg *Bruck in the Synagogue in White's Row, Portsmouth.
  • 51. Sabbath, 9th Tebeth 543 [14.12.1782], I circumcised Uri Shragai Feis son of Benjamin Levi in the New Synagogue, Daniel's Row, Portsmouth.
  • 52. Sabbath 16th Tebeth 543 [21.12.1782], I circumcised Selig Reuben son of Jonathan Cohen in Gosport.
  • 53. Sunday, 9th [or 19th*] Shebat, 543 [12.1.1783], I circumcised Jacob son of Samuel Levi who left our Synagogue in Daniel's Row and joined the Synagogue in White's Row; in spite of it I circum-
    cised his child in Portsmouth.
  • 54. Wednesday, 12th Shebat, 543 [15.1.1783], I circumcised Benjamin Wolf [*Ze'eb] son of Isaac Elkin in the Synagogue White's Row, Portsmouth.
  • 55. Thursday, 13th Shebat, 543 [16.1.1783], I circumcised Aaron son of Barukh in the Synagogue, White's Row, Portsmouth.
  • 56. Tuesday, 28th *25th Shebat, 543 [28.1.1783], I circumcised Naphtali son of Mordecai, in Southampton.
  • 57. Tuesday, 28th Second Adar 543* [1.4.1783], I circumcised Benjamin Simeon son of Alexander (Sender) Jeweller in the Synagogue in White's Row.
  • 58. Eve of Sabbath 19th Elul 543 [16.9.1783] [?*], I circumcised Uri Feis son of Reb Mordecai, Beadle of Synagogue White's Row, Portsmouth. [*19 Elul = Tuesday; error for 29 (or 15?) Elul?]
  • 59. Sunday, 14th Heshvan 544 [9.11.1783], I circumcised Jonah son of Asher Lemla, in the New Synagogue, Daniel's Row, Portsmouth.
  • 60. Sabbath, 4th Kislev 544 [29.11.1783], I circumcised Gimpel son of Yehiel Emden in the New Synagogue, Daniel's Row, Portsmouth.
  • 61. Friday, 4th Nisan 544 [26.3.1784], I circumcised Mordecai son of Zvi in the New Synagogue, Daniel's Row, Portsmouth.
  • 62. Eve of Sabbath, Eve of New Moon, 29th Sivan 544 [18.6.1784], I circumcised Judah son of Abraham in the Synagogue, White's Row, Portsmouth. [*actually day before eve of new moon]
  • 63. Eve of Sabbath, 28th Heshvan 545 [12.11.1784], I circumcised Moses son of Benjamin Levi in the New Synagogue in Daniel's Row and my son made the Preeah and Meziza.
  • 64. Wednesday, Eve of New Moon of Tammuz, 545 [8.6.1785], I circumcised for the second time the boy Jacob son of Moses, being four months old, namely from the Eve of New Moon of Adar to Eve of New Moon of Tammuz. I cut off a big Orlah and made the Preeah as if he had not been circumcised before, this is called a double-foreskin. And my son circumcised and made Preeah for the first time.
  • 65. On the Eve of New Moon of Kislev 546 [2.11.1785], I circumcised the boy Meir son of Joseph son of (*called) David son of Meir and my son made the Preeah and Meziza in the Synagogue in White's Row, Portsmouth.
  • 66. Sabbath, Weekly Portion of the Law, Vayyesheb, 24th Kislev 546 [26.11.1785], I circumcised David son of Asher who is called Lemla in the New Synagogue, Daniel's Row, and my son made the Preeah and Maziza.
  • 67. Friday [*Thursday?], 2nd of Second Adar 546 [2.3.1786], I circumcised Moses son of Pinhas, in Gosport, and my son Joel made the Preeah and Maziza. [*2nd Adar II = Thursday, 3rd = Friday]
  • 68. Tuesday, 13th Nisan 546 [11.4.1786], I circumcised Pinhas Selig son of Judah in Portsmouth, in the New Synagogue, Daniel's Row and my son made the Preeah and Maziza.
  • 69. Sabbath, 5th Tammuz, 546 [1.7.1786], I circumcised Abraham son of Menahem Ezriel in Arundel, Sussex. I took with me a Scroll of Law. There are fourteen people [or Jewish families] who originally come from here [Portsmouth] and *Brighthemston.
  • 70. Thursday, 19th *9th Kislev 547 [*30.11.1786], I circumcised Yitzhak Isaac (*Isaac Aizik) son of Seligin in *Brighthemston, Sussex. [*looks much more like 9th than 19th (which was Sunday)]
  • 71. Thursday, 11th Adar 547 [1.3.1787], I circumcised Joshua Falk son of Jacob *PḤ Levi, in the Synagogue in White's Row, one child, and my son circumcised the other, because they were twins.
  • 72. Tuesday [*Wed.?], 18th Tammuz, 547 [4.7.1787], I circumcised Hayyim son of Asher who is called Lemla,in the New Synagogue, Daniel's Row, in Portsmouth Common. [*18 Tammuz = Wed.]
  • 73. First Day of Pentecost, 548 [11.6.1788], I circumcised Libman Eleazar son of Reb Samuel, in Poole.
  • 74. Friday, 5th *6th Tammuz, 548 [11.7.1788], I circumcised Selig Pinhas son of Menahem Ezriel son of Abraham, in Arundel [, Sussex]. (74a.) Tuesday, 20th Tishri 549 [21.10.88], I circumcised Zvi Hirsh son of Yehiel son of Simha and my son made the Preeah and Meziza in the Synagogue, in White's Row, in Portsmouth.
  • 75. Thursday [*Friday?], 2nd day of the New Moon of Tammuz 549 [26.6.1789], I circumcised Uri Phoebus [*Feifush] son of Asher who is called Lemla son of Pinhas Isaac in the New Synagogue, Daniel's Row. And may the Almighty enable his father and mother to rear him in the Law, for Nuptial Canopy and for Good Deeds. [*1st Tammuz = Thurs, 2nd = Friday.]
  • 76. Friday, 10th Elul 550 [20.8.1790], I circumcised Moses Moshe [*Mozus Moses] son of Solomon Levi in Poole. I went with Zalman Levi to Poole on Thursday, 9th Elul 1790.
  • 77. Thursday, 16th Tebeth 551 [23.12.1790], I circumcised the son of Asher son of Zvi and his name is Zvi. May the Almighty enable his father and mother to rear him in the Law for Nuptial Canopy and good deeds.
  • 78. Tuesday, 7th Shebat, 552 [31.1.1792], I circumcised Pinhas Selig son of Asher, son of Zvi, of Exeter.
  • 79. Sunday, 15th Tebeth 553 [30.12.1792], I circumcised son of Asher Lemla son of Pinhas Isaac who is called Elhanan Henla. May the Almighty enable his father and mother to rear him in the Law for Nuptial Canopy and Good Deeds.
  • 80. Thursday, on the New Moon of Nisan 553 [14.3.1793], I circumcised Jacob Kopel son of Judah son of Joseph in Portsmouth. May the Almighty enable his father and mother to rear him in the Law, for Nuptial Canopy, and for Good Deeds. Amen.
  • 81. Sabbath, 5th [*6th?] Ab 554 [*6th = Sabbath, 2.8.1794], I circumcised the son of Libman, who is called Issakhar Bear son of Eleazar, in his house. May the Almighty enable his father and mother to rear him in the Law, for nuptial canopy, and for good deeds. Amen.
  • 82. Friday, 12th Iyar, 555 [1.5.1795], I circumcised Judah son of Asher son-in-law of Joseph Jobman *Chapman. May the Almighty enable his father and mother to rear him in the Law, for Nuptial Canopy and for Good Deeds. Amen.
  • 83. Friday, 19th Iyar 555 [8.5.1795], I circumcised David son of Asher son of Zvi, Exeter. May the Almighty enable his father and mother to rear him in the Law, for Nuptial Canopy, and for good deeds. Amen.
  • 84. Eve of Sabbath, 22nd Tebeth 557 [20.1.1797]-in Portsmouth. I circumcised Jacob son of Moses and my son made the Preeah and Maziza. May his father and mother rear him in the Law, Nuptial Canopy and Good Deeds. Amen.
  • 85. Wednesday, 25 Tammuz, 557 [19.7.1797], I circumcised David son of Menahem Ezriel who is called Manes [*Manis]. May his father and mother rear him in the Law, Nuptial Canopy and Good Deeds.
  • 86. Sabbath, 8th Cheshvan 558 [28.10.1797], I circumcised the son of Simha, Watchmaker, and his name is Jacob son of Simha.
  • 87. Wednesday, 1st of New Moon Sivan 558 [16.5.1798], I circumcised Joseph son of Asher son of Gabriel. May the Almighty enable his father and mother to rear him in the Law, Nuptial Canopy and Good Deeds.
  • 88. Thursday, 21st Kislev, 559 [29.11.1798]. I circumcised the son of Abraham Plymouth and his name is Jacob son of Abraham. May the Almighty enable his father and mother to rear him in the Law, Nuptial Canopy and Good Deeds. Amen.
  • 89. Eve of Sabbath, 13th Tebeth 559 [21.12.1798]. I circumcised Raphael son of Pinhas Selig and my son made the Preeah and Mazizah. May the Almighty enable his father and mother to rear him in the Law, Nuptial Canopy and Good Deeds.
  • 90. Sabbath, 8th *18th First Adar 559 [23.2.1799]. I circumcised Judah son of Moses Jacob.
  • 91. Sabbath, 9th Second Adar 559 [16.3.1799]. I circumcised Alexander son of Abraham Bordges, and his name is Sender son of Abraham.
  • 92. Wednesday [*Tuesday?], 17th Tebeth 560 [14.1.1800]. I circumcised Barukh son of Asher son of Gabriel. May the Almighty enable his father and mother to rear him in the Law, Nuptial Canopy and Good Deeds. [*17th Tebeth = Tuesday, 18th = Wednesday]
  • 93. Wednesday *Friday, 17th Adar 560 [14.3.1800]. I circumcised Jacob son of Simhah Levi who is called Doctor Lara in the Hebrah.
  • 94. Wednesday, 28th Shebat 561 [11.2.1801]. I circumcised Lion *Ari Judah son of Aaron Israel.
  • 95. Wednesday, 5th Adar 561 [18.2.1801]. I circumcised with my son the son of Solomon and his name is Josla Joseph son of Solomon, the grandson of Judah son of Joseph. I circumcised the father and two sons and his grandson, son of his daughter, 561 [-1801], and his name is Yiddle [*Yidlah] son of Joseph Merlin *Melrin whom I circumcised in Winchester and his son Selig and his son Jacob and two sons of his daughter in Portsmouth.
  • 96. Thursday, 10th Iyar 561 [23.4.1801]. I circumcised with my son the son of Simhah Cohen who is a brother-in-law of my son-in-law Yechiel son of Samuel Sanwel [*Zanvil], in Portsmouth, and his name is Yekuthiel son of Simhah Cohen. May the Almighty enable his father and mother to rear him in the Law, for Nuptial Canopy and Good Deeds.
  • 97. Portsmouth. Sabbath, 29th Ab 561 [8.8.1801]. I circumcised with my son Solomon Zalman son of Uri Shragai Feis of Rochfort, in Essex. May his father and mother rear him in the Law, for Nuptial Canopy and Good Deeds.
  • 98. Thursday, 25th Elul 561 [3.9.'01]. I circumcised Joseph son of Asher Lion *Ari, in Portsmouth. May his father and mother rear him in the Law, for Nuptial Canopy and Good Deeds. Amen.
  • 99. Monday, 25th Second Adar, 562 [29.3.1802]. I circumcised Asher Lemla son of Solomon son of Reb Uri *Ari son-in-law of Judah son of Joseph in Portsmouth. I circumcised Judah son of Joseph in Winchester on the 18th Tebeth 523 [-1763] and took with me a Minyan from here.
  • 100. Sabbath, Weekly Portion of the Law, Aharei Moth, which is 29th of Nisan 562 [1.5.1802]. I circum- cised with my son, the son of my son-in-law, Michael, son of Samuel Zanwel, and his wife is my daughter, in Portsmouth, and his name is Zanwel [*Zanvil].
  • 101. Monday, 12th Tammuz 562 [12.7.1802]. I circumcised Moses son of Abraham, of *Breit [presum- ably Brighthemston], in Portsmouth.
  • 102. Wednesday, 28th Tammuz 562 [28.7.1802]. I circumcised Simeon son of Jacob son of Gabriel in Portsmouth.
  • 103. Wednesday, 6th Ab, 562 [4.8.1802]. I circumcised Solomon Zalman son of David of Rochfort, in Essex, in Portsmouth.
  • 104. Thursday, Intermediate Days of Tabernacles, 563 [14.10.1802]. I circumcised Asher Lemla son of [Aaron Feis] *Feis Aaron, on 18th Tishre, in Portsmouth.
  • 105. Tuesday, 24th Tebeth 563 [18.1.1803]. I circumcised with my son, Simeon son of Eliezer [*or Eleazar] Zisl in Portsmouth.
  • 106. Sabbath, Second Day of Pentecost, 563 [28.5.1803]. I circumcised my grandson Isaac son of Michael who is called Itzik son of Michael. May the Almighty enable his father and mother to rear him in the Law, for Nuptial Canopy and Good Deeds. Amen.
  • 107. Friday [*Eve of Sabbath], Weekly Portion of the Law Eikeb. *Tuesday 6th Ab 563 [25.7.1803](.) I circumcised with my son, Moses *Mozus son of Asher son of Gabriel, in Portsmouth. [*The date seems faulty,as 6th Ab = Monday; the Eikeb reading was later in the month, and might possibly be unconnected with the 6th Ab entry which follows below it.]
  • 108. Thursday, 7th Elul 563 [25.8.1803]. I circumcised with my son, Samuel son of Solomon son-in-law of Judah son of Joseph, in Portsmouth. I circumcised Judah son of Joseph in Winchester and his son-in-law and three sons in Portsmouth.
  • 109. Sunday, Second Day of New Year, 564 [18.9.1803]. I circumcised with my son, Benjamin Wolf [*Ze'eb] son of Uri Shragai Feis son of Solomon of Rochfort, in Portsmouth.
  • 110. Eve of Feast of Tabernacles, 564 [30.9.1803]. I circumcised with my son, Benjamin Wolf [*Ze'eb] son of Eleazar Franklin of London, in Portsmouth.
  • 111. Tuesday, 19th Tammuz 565 [16.7.1805]. I circumcised the son of Pinhas Selig Trobe and his name is Simeon. May the Almighty enable his father and mother to rear him in the Law, Nuptial Canopy and Good Deeds.
  • 112. Sabbath, 6th Heshvan 568 [7.11.1807]. I circumcised my grandson Naphtali Hertz [*Hirtz] son of Michael, in Portsmouth. May the Almighty enable his father and mother to rear him in the Law, Nuptial Canopy and Good Deeds. - He had to be circumcised a second time by a Mohel from London since I forgot to make Preeah on the day of Circumcision, because of the deep grief over my son Joel who committed suicide for the sake of an evil woman more bitter than death.

 

 

COMPLETE ANNOTATED LIST OF THE FATHERS' NAMES IN THE REGISTER

 

This is a complete expanded list of the fathers' (Hebrew) names, in the numerical (chronological) order of the original.    As above, amendments to Newman's transcription are marked with an *asterisk.   If a father has more than one entry, I have incorporated all his given details into his first entry, appending all his entry-numbers in brackets ( ).   Each father's Hebrew name appears in bold type, and has wherever possible been expanded or completed from other sources, principally from the old Minute Book;  any such additions appear in italics.    In square [ ] brackets I have added the father's English name if known, with surname in capitals, and have indicated membership of the Old or New Congregation, with "M" if his name occurs also in the old Minute Book.    Occasionally (e.g. nos. 36, 54) if the father's surname is found registered as if part of his Hebrew name, I have omitted it in favour of his genuine Hebrew name;  the surname will of course be found added in the square brackets.    If the ceremony took place outside Portsmouth, the town name is added.   Dates and babies' names are omitted;  they are found in Newman's translation above.   (Mothers' names are never once mentioned, unfortunately the norm for such a register).   I have retained Newman's traditional English spelling of Hebrew names, e.g. Isaac, Solomon, etc., and also his near-invariable spelling "Eleazar" (always אלעזר in the Register).   Also retained are Newman's "tribal surnames" Levi and Cohen for the standard acronyms Segal (סגל) and Katz (כץ) of the original text. 

 

b. = ben (son of).

fr. = from (+ town, village or place of origin, as final part of Hebrew name).

OC / NC = Old Congregation / New Congregation (during the "split" period 1766-1789).

M = name appears in the congregation Minute Book (1764-1840).

[ - ] indicates that the English name is (as yet) unknown.

* indicates an emendation or adjustment of Newman's transcription (see note above).

 

 

Before the Split: 1762-1765  ("OC" and "NC" refer forward to the 1766 split)

 

1.   Israel Isserle b. Mordecai Moses fr. Erlang(en*), b-i-law of Leib Aleph (Levy ISAAC), (performed in *Swabia (Schwaben)  [NC; M; Israel MORDECAI] (1, and probably 31, 39) 

2.   Judah b. Eleazar fr. Somerich (Z-) (*Sommerach), b-i-law of Leib Aleph  [NC; M; Judah LAZARUS] (2, 14)

3.   Eleazar b. Zvi fr. Ansbach  [buried in cemetery Elul 1764; probably Lazarus HART]

4.   Judah Leib b. Moses Levi fr. Wiesenfeld, b-i-law of Leib Aleph  [OC > NC; M; Levi MOSES (i)] (4, 9, 17, 25, 27, 32)

5.   Eleazar Lazi b. Moses fr. Fürth  [OC; M; Lazarus MOSES]

6.   Joseph b. Judah *Melrin (from Ellern, or Möllern??), in Winchester  [NC; M; Joseph LEVI (-Y)]    (6, 15; see also 68, 80, and 95, 99, 108)

7.   *Rabbi Isaac Standel (*Shtendel), teacher  [otherwise unknown]

8.   Judah Leib b. Ze'eb Levi fr. Königsberg  [NC; M; - ] (8, 11)

9.   see 4

10. Solomon  [otherwise unknown]

11. see 8

12. Moses Levi (probably Moses b. Mordecai Levi  [NC; M; Moses LEVI?] )  (mentioned also in no.19)

 

First period of the Split: 1766-1773  (NC only, with the two exceptions 19 and 21 (see text & Newman))

 

13. Reuben Zelig Jacob b. Naftali Cohen fr. Lautersbach, and Fulda  [NC; M; possibly JONAS]   (13, 23, 29)

14. see 2

15. see 6 (in Winchester)

16. Meir  [NC] (probably Meir b. Moses fr. Terkum (= Bad Dürkheim?) [NC; M; - ] ) 

17. see 4                                                          

18. Jacob, the Doctor, fr. Wetzlar  [NC; otherwise unknown]

19. Samuel *Zanvil b. Menahem fr. *Sennfeld in Odenwald (in Moses Levi's house)  [OC; M; Samuel EMANUEL] (19, 49)

20. Mordecai, silversmith, fr. Lublin  [NC; perhaps same as 56] 

21. Israel Judah b. Moses Aaron Cohen, *alias Lima Cohen, s-i-law of Benjamin Wolf b. Jacob Levi (Benjamin LEVI)  [OC; M; Levi MOSES (ii)] (21, 38)

22. Naftali *Hirtz b. Jehiel (Ye-)  [NC; M; very probably Henry MICHAEL]

23. see 13

24. Benjamin Wolf Klinger b. Simon Levi, lately from Bath  [NC; M; Woolf SIMONS] (24, 37, 45, 51, 63)

25. see 4

26. Simeon (Simon) b. Eleazar  [NC; Simon LAZARUS] (26, 34)

27. see 4

 

Second period of the Split: 1774-1789  (compromise years, both NC and OC) 

 

28. Akiba b. Samuel fr. Norwich (probably)  [OC; M; - ]

29. see 13

30. (Reb) Joseph, Reader of New Synagogue  [NC; otherwise unknown]

31. Israel Isserle (-ah)  [NC] (31, 39; very probably same as no. 1)

32. see 4

33. Gabriel b. Judah Aaron fr. Michelbach  [OC; M; Gabriel NATHAN]

34. see 26

35. Jacob b. Benjamin (Wolf) Levi PḤ (this abbreviation פח is of uncertain meaning)  [OC; M; Jacob LEVI] (35, 41, 71)

36. Isaac b. *Zachariah fr. Bohemia  [OC; M; Isaac ZACHARIAH]

37. see 24

38. see 21 (in Cowes, IOW)

39. see 31

40. Judah *Yidla b. Moses Jacob fr. *Hartheim ("Hartum"), s-i-law of Leib Aleph  [NC; Judah MOSES   of Plymouth]

41. see 35

42. Zvi b. Judah fr. Massbach, or Mosbach (מאסבאך)  [NC; M; Henry LEVY (LEVI)] (42, 47, 61)

43. Jehiel (Ye-) Michael b. Simhah  [OC; M; Michael JACOBS] (43, 74a)

44. Asher Lemla b. Pinhas Isaac  [NC; M; Lemle DAVIDS] (44, 59, 66, 72, 75, 79)

45. see 24

46. Solomon b. Isaac fr. Erlangen  [OC; M; Solomon ISAAC(S)]

47. see 42  

48. Alexander Sender b. Shalom, Jeweller  [OC; M; - ] (48. 57)

49. see 19

50.  Zvi Hirsh b. Abraham Samson (Shimshon) fr. *Bruck [OC; M; Henry SIMPSON] 

51. see 24

52. Jonathan b. Reuben Cohen, in [and of] Gosport  [NC; M; possibly JONAS (see 13)]

53. Samuel b. Mordecai Levi  [NC; M; Samuel MORDECAI (joined OC in Sept. 1782)]

54. Isaac b. Elhanan fr. Raubach (possibly Raibach, Reubach?)  [OC; M; Isaac ELKIN]

55. Baruch b. Moses fr. N-sh (Neustadt?)  [OC; M; Barnett MOSES]

56. Mordecai b. Judah, in Southampton  [joined OC, perhaps from NC, in September 1782; M; - (see no.20)]

57. see 48

58. Reb Mordecai b. Isaiah Levi, Beadle of OC  [OC; M (scribe 1774-84); - ]

59. see 44

60. Jehiel (Ye-) Michael b. Mordecai Gumpel fr. Emden  [NC; M; Michael EMDEN]

61. see 42

62. Abraham b. Moses Plymouth  [OC; M; Abraham MOSES] (62, 88)

63. see 24 

64. Moses (Jacob?) b. Naftali Hirtz, Drucker  [OC; M; Moses HART] (64, also 84 and 90?)

65. Joseph *alias David b. Meir fr. Ilfeld  [OC; M; prob. Joseph (or David) MYERS]

66. see 44

67. Pinhas b. Isaac Fürth, in Gosport  [OC; M; Phineas MOSES]

68. Judah b. Joseph  [NC; M; Joseph LEVY (LEVI), son of no. 6] (68, 80)

69. Menahem Ezriel "*Manis" b. Abraham, in Arundel  [NC; M; Israel ABRAHAM] (69, 74, 85)    

70. Seligin (Ze-), in Brighton  [otherwise unknown]

71. see 35 (the twins were Walter Jacob and Isaac LEVI)

 

72. see 44 

73. Reb Samuel, in Poole  [Samuel ISAAC(S)]

74. See 69 (in Arundel)

74a.See 43

75. See 44

 

1790 onwards: the NC ceases to function, and the congregations are reunited

 

76. Solomon (Eliakom Zalman) b. Ze'eb (Wolf) Levi, in Poole  [M; Solomon LEVY]

77. Asher b. Zvi fr. Exeter  [ex-NC; M; Israel ISRAEL] (77, 78, 83)

78. See 77

79. See 44

80. See 68

81. Eleazar Libman (Lip-) b. Nathan fr. Hamburg  [M; Philip NATHAN]

82. Asher b. Gabriel, s-in-law of Joseph b. Jekuthiel Kopman [Joseph *CHAPMAN]  [M; Asher NATHAN]     (82, 87, 92, 107)

83. See 77

84. Moses (see 64)

85. See 69

86. Simhah b. Jacob Cohen, Watchmaker, b-in-law of Jehiel [i.e. Michael] b. Samuel [no. 100]  [M; Simon ABRAHAMS] (86,96)

87. See 82

88. See 62

89. Pinhas Selig (*Ze-) b. Jacob Rintel fr. Amsterdam  [ex-NC; M; Solomon JACOBS DE JONG]    (v. probable patronym and identification) (also no.111?)

90. Moses Jacob (see 64)

91. Abraham *Bordgis (בארדגיס, final "s" smudged) [conceivably = "Portugese"?]  [otherwise unknown]

92. See 82

93. Simhah Levi, "Doctor Lara" ((לץארה  [Dr. Benjamin LARA]  

94. Aaron Israel (spelt as Hebrew name) [?b. Zvi Exeter = Arnold ISRAEL JOHNSON?] - (N.B. the baby is *Ari Judah)

95. Solomon b. (Reb) Abraham *Ari, s-i-law of Judah b. Joseph (no.68)  [M; Charles LYONS] (95, 99, 108)

96. See 86

97. Uri Shraga Feis b. Solomon fr. Rochford Essex  [M; Philip BARNARD] (97, 109)  

98. Asher *Ari  [ - ] 

99. See 95

100. Michael b. Samuel *Zanvil, s-i-law of Leib Aleph  [M; Michael EMANUEL, son of no. 19] (100, 106,

        112;  see also 86)                                      

101. Abraham of Brighton (?)  [ - ]

102. Jacob b. Gabriel  [M; Jacob NATHAN]

103. David b. Solomon fr. Rochford Essex  [M; David BARNARD]

104. *Feis Aaron (spelt as Hebrew name, not as surname)  [nevertheless = Philip AARON?]

105. Eleazar *Zissel b. Simon  [M; Lewis LAZARUS, son of no. 26]

106. See 100

107. See 82

108. See 95

109. See 97

110. Eleazar b. Jacob Benjamin Zeeb Franklin fr. London  [M; Lewis FRANKLIN]

111. Pinhas Selig (*Ze-) *Trobey (טרובץ) (likely same as no. 89)

112. See 100

 

 

            *           *           *           *           *           *           *           *

           

 

 

 

                                                                                                                                                                                                                        INDEX OF HEBREW NAMES

                         

          The alphabetic order within each Hebrew given name is:

          1.  Given name(s) + patronymic, alphabetically by patronymic (e.g. Zvi Hirsh b. Abraham, Zvi b. Asher...)

          2.  Given names with no known patronymic, alphabetically by the second word.

          3.  Name as patronymic, in alphabetic order of son's given name after the comma.

          As in the annotated list, b. = ben (son of), and "fr." = from.

          Babies' names are in italics (unless they appear later as fathers also - nos.6,19 & 26).

 


 

Aaron b. Baruch                         55

Aaron b. Solomon                                  10

Aaron Feis                                            104

Aaron (Israel) (? b. Zvi)                          94

 

Abigdor b.Joseph                                   30

 

Abraham b. Jacob                                 18

Abraham b. Judah                                  40

Abraham b. Menahem Ezriel                   69

Abraham b. Moses                              62,88

Abraham Balak                                      19

Abraham Bordgis                                  91

Abraham of Brighton                             101

Abraham, Menahem b.                     69,74,85

Abraham Ari, Solomon b.               95,99,108

Abraham Samson, Zvi b.                       50

                

Akiba (? b. Samuel)                               28

 

Alexander Sender b. Abraham                 91

Alexander b. Judah Levi                         27

Alexander Sender (Jeweller)b.Shalom  48,57

Alexander b. Solomon                            46

 

Ari Judah b. Aaron (Israel)                      94

Aryeh Judah b. Zvi                                 47

(& see Abraham Ari, Asher Ari)

 

Asher Lemla b.Feis Aaron                      104

Asher b. Gabriel                        82,87,92,107

Asher Lemla b.Pinhas Isaac 44,59,66,72,75,79

Asher Lemla b. Solomon                        99

Asher b. Zvi                                   77,78,83

Asher Ari (Lion)                                     98

 

Av-    see Ab-

 

Balak - see Abraham Balak

 

Baruch b. Asher                                                92

Baruch b. Eleazar                                    5

Baruch b. Israel                                     39

Baruch b. Moses                                   55

 

Benjamin Simon b. Alexander                 57

Benjamin Ze'eb b. Eleazar                      110

Benjamin Ze'eb b. Isaac                         54

Benjamin Wolf b. Jacob Levi    19,21,35,41,71

Benjamin Wolf b. Simon Levi   24,37,45,51,63

(& see Jacob Benjamin Franklin)

 

Bordgis - see Abraham

David b. Asher b. Pinhas                        66

David b. Asher b. Zvi                             83

David b. Judah                                      14

David b. Judah Levi                               11

David (Joseph) b. Meir                          65

David b. Menahem                                 85

David (Tevele) b. Mordecai                     20

David b. Solomon                                 103

 

Eleazar Zissel b. Israel                           31

Eleazar b. Jacob Benjamin Ze'eb           110

Eleazar Zissel b. Judah                            2

Eleazar Lazi b. Moses                              5

Eleazar Lipman b. Nathan                      81

Eleazar Lipman b. Samuel                      73

Eleazar Zissel b. Simon                     26;105

Eleazar b. Zvi                                          3

Eleazar, Judah b.                                 2;14

(& see Zissel)

 

Elhanan Henla b. Asher                          79

Elhanan b. Judah Levi                              8

Elhanan, Isaac b.                                   54

 

Eliakom Zalman b. Ze'eb Levi                76

 

Elias (Elijah) b. Benjamin Levi                 24

 

Feis Aaron                                            104

(& see Uri)

 

Gabriel b. Judah Aaron                          33

Gabriel, Asher b.                       82,87,92,107

Gabriel, Jacob b.                                  102

 

Gimpel b. Jehiel Emden (see Mordecai)  60

 

Haim b. Asher                                       72

 

Hirsh (see Zvi)

 

Hirtz b. Judah Levi                                  25

(& see Naftali)

 

Isaac b. Elhanan                                    54

Isaac Selig b. Jacob Cohen                    13

Isaac b. Judah (Lima) Cohen                  38

Isaac b. Michael                                    106

Isaac b. Seligin                                      70

Isaac b. Zachariah                                 36

Isaac Standel                                          7

Isaac, Pinhas b.                                                67

Isaac, Solomon b.                                 46

(& see Pinhas Isaac)

Isaiah Levi, Mordecai b.                         58

 

Israel b. Mordecai Moses                  1,31,39

Israel Judah b. Moses Aaron Cohen    21,38

 

Issachar Bear b. Benjamin Levi               37

Issachar Bear b. Eleazar Lipman 81

 

Jacob b. Benjamin Levi                   35,41,71

Jacob b. Gabriel                                    102

Jacob Koppel b. Joseph Melrin               15

Jacob Koppel b. Judah                         80;95

Jacob b. Judah Levi                                 9

Jacob b. Moses                                     84

Jacob b. Moses (Drucker)                       64

Jacob (Reuben) b. Naftali Cohen      13,23,29

Jacob b. Samuel Levi                             53

Jacob b. Simhah Cohen                         86

Jacob b. Simhah Levi                             93

Jacob fr. Wetzlar                                   18

Jacob Levi, Benjamin b.                      19,21,35,41,71

Jacob Benjamin Franklin, Eleazar b.       110

Jacob Rintel, Pinhas b.                          89

Jacob Cohen, Simhah b.                      86,96

 (& see Moses Jacob)

 

Jehiel b. Mordecai Gumpel Emden         60

Jehiel b. Naftali Hirtz                              22

Jehiel (Michael) b. Samuel - see Michael

Jehiel b. Simhah                                43,74a

 

Jekuthiel b. Judah Levi                           32

Jekuthiel b. Simhah Cohen                     96

Jekuthiel Kopman, Joseph b.                 82

 

Joel b. Judah Leib Aleph                 see text

Joel b. Judah Levi                                   17

 

Jonah b. Asher                                      59

Jonah b. Jacob Levi                               41

 

Jonathan b. Reuben Cohen                    52

 

Joseph b. Asher                                    87

Joseph b. Asher Ari                               98

Joseph b. Isaac Standel                           7

Joseph b. Jekuthiel Kopman                  82

Joseph b. Judah Melrin     6,15;80,95,99,108

Joseph (David) b. Meir                          65

Joseph b. Solomon                                95

Joseph (Reader, NC)                             30

Judah b. Abraham                                  62

Judah b. Asher                                      82

Judah b. Eleazar                                  2,14

Judah b. Gabriel                                    33

Judah Leib Aleph b. Isaac   1,2,4,40,100,112

Judah Leib b. Isaac Zachariah                36

Judah b. Joseph (Melrin)    6;68,80,95,99,108

Judah b. Moses Jacob (Plymouth)         40

Judah b. Moses Jacob                           90

Judah Leib b.Moses Levi W'd 4,9,17,25,27,32

Judah b. Samuel                                    49

Judah Leib b. Ze'eb Levi K'berg             8,11

Judah Leib b. Zvi                                   42

Judah Aaron, Gabriel b.                         33

Judah Melrin, Joseph b.                                    6,15

Judah, Mordecai b.                               56

Judah, Zvi b.                                  42,47,61

(& see Aryeh Judah, Israel Judah)

 

Kopman - see Joseph b. Jekuthiel

 

Leib - see Judah

 

Lemla - see Asher

 

Lima Cohen - see Israel Judah Cohen

 

Lion - see Aryeh

 

Lipman - see Eleazar

 

Meir b. Eleazar                                        3

Meir b. Joseph (David) b. Meir                65

Meir (? b. Moses)                                  16

Meir, Joseph (David) b.                         65

 

Menahem Ezriel b. Abraham            69,74,85

Menahem, Samuel b.                              19

 

Michael (Jehiel) b. Mordecai Emden       60

Michael (Jehiel) b. Naftali Hirtz                22

Michael b. Samuel       19;86,96;100,106,112

Michael (Jehiel) b. Simhah                43,74a

 

Mordecai b. Isaiah Levi                          58

Mordecai b. Israel                                    1

(Mordecai) Gimpel b. Jehiel Emden         60

Mordecai b. Judah                                56

Mordecai b. Simon                                 34

Mordecai b. Zvi                                      61

Mordecai fr. Lublin                                20

Mordecai Moses, Israel b.              1 (31,39)

Mordecai Gumpel, Jehiel (Michael) b.     60

Mordecai Levi, Moses b. (?)                   12

Mordecai Levi, Samuel b.                      53

 

Moses b. Abraham                                 101

Moses b. Akiba                                     28

Moses b. Asher                                     107

Moses b. Benjamin Levi                         63

Moses b. Israel Judah (Lima) Cohen         21

Moses b. Jacob (Reuben) Cohen 29

Moses b. Meir                                       16

Moses b. Mordecai Levi - see Moses Levi

Moses (Jacob) b. Naftali Drucker   64;(84,90)

Moses b. Pinhas                                    67

Moses b. Solomon (Eliakom) Levi           76

Moses Jacob - see Moses b. Naftali

Moses Levi                                         12,19

Moses, Abraham b.                             62,88

Moses, Baruch b.                                  55

Moses Aaron Cohen, Israel Judah b.    21,38

Moses Jacob, Judah b.                         40

Moses Levi, Judah b,            4,9,17,25,27,32

Moses, Meir b.                                      16

(& see Mordecai Moses)

Naftali Hirtz b. Jehiel                              22

Naftali Hirtz b. Michael                           112

Naftali b. Mordecai                                 56

Naftali Cohen, Jacob (Reuben) b.    13,23,29

Naftali Hirtz, Moses b.                           64

(& see Hirtz)

 

Nathan, Eleazar Lipman b.                      81

 

Phoebus - see Uri

 

Pinhas Selig b. Asher b. Pinhas Isaac     44

Pinhas Selig b. Asher b. Zvi                    78

Pinhas b. Isaac                                     67

Pinhas Zelig b. Jacob Rintel                  89

Pinhas Selig b. Judah                         68; 95

Pinhas Selig b. Menahem Ezriel              74

Pinhas Selig Trobey                              111

Pinhas Isaac, Asher b.       44,59,66,72,75,79

 

Raphael b. Pinhas Selig                         89

 

Reuben Zelig Jacob b.Naftali Cohen 13,23,29

Reuben Selig b. Jonathan Cohen 52

Reuben Cohen, Jonathan b.                   52

 

Samson b. Zvi                                       50

(& see Abraham Samson)

 

Samuel b. Menahem                            19,49

Samuel b. Michael                                 100

Samuel b. Mordecai Levi                       53

Samuel b. Solomon                                108

Samuel (in Poole)                                  73

Samuel, Akiba b.                                   28

Samuel, Michael b.       19;86,96;100,106,112

 

Seligin (in Brighton)                               70

Selig - see Pinhas, Reuben & Isaac

 

Sender - see Alexander

 

Shalom b. Alexander Sender                   48

Shalom, Alexander Sender b.                48,57

 

Shimshah, Shimshon  - see Samson

 

Shraga - see Uri

 

Simhah b. Jacob Cohen,Watchmaker   86,96

Simhah b. Jehiel                                    43

Simhah, Jehiel (Michael) b.                 43,74a

Simhah Levi                                          93

 

Simon b. Benjamin Levi                          45

Simon b. Eleazar                                  26,34

Simon b. Eleazar Zissel                          105

Simon b. Jacob                                     102

Simon b. Pinhas                                    111

Simon Levi, Benjamin b.                     24,37,45,51,63

(& see Benjamin Simon b. Alexander)

 

Solomon b. Abraham Ari              95,99,108

Solomon Zalman b. David                       103

Solomon b. Isaac                                  46

Solomon b. Jacob Levi                           35

Solomon Zalman b. Uri Shraga Feis        97

Solomon (Eliakom) b. Ze'eb Levi           76

Solomon                                                10

Solomon, David & Uri Feis b.       97,103,109

 

Tevele - see David

 

Trobey - see Pinhas (111)

 

Uri Phoebus b. Asher                             75

Uri Shragai Feis b. Benjamin Levi            51

Uri Feis b. Mordecai                               58

Uri Shraga Feis b. Solomon               97,109

(& see Feis)

 

Wolf - see Benjamin & Ze'eb

 

Ye- (see Je-)

 

Zachariah, Isaac b.                                36

 

Zalman - see Solomon

Zanvil (Zanwel) - see Samuel

Zelig - see Selig

 

Ze'eb Levi, Judah b.                             8,11

Ze'eb Levi, Solomon b.                         76

(& see Benjamin)

 

Zissel b. Judah Levi                                 4

(& see Eleazar)

 

Zvi Hirsh b. Abraham Samson                50

Zvi b. Asher                                          77

Zvi Hirsh b. Jehiel                                  74a

Zvi b. Judah                                  42,47,61

Zvi, Asher b.                                 77,78,83

Zvi, Eleazar b.                                        3

 

 

Special index of COHENS AND LEVI'S

(fathers only, with their first entries)

 

Israel Judah b. Moses Aaron Cohen (21)

Jacob b. Naftali Cohen (= Reuben Cohen)

Jonathan b. Reuben Cohen (52)

Lima Cohen (= Israel Judah Cohen)

Reuben Zelig Jacob b.Naftali Cohen (13)

Simhah b. Jacob Cohen            (86)

           

Benjamin Wolf b. Jacob Levi (19,21)

Benjamin Wolf b. Simon Levi (24)

Eliakom Zalman (Solomon) b.Ze'eb Levi (76)

Jacob b. Benjamin Levi (35)

Judah Leib b. Moses Levi Wiesenfeld (4)

Judah Leib b. Ze'eb Levi Königsberg (8)

Mordecai b. Isaiah Levi (58)

Moses (b. Mordecai) Levi (12)

Samuel b. Mordecai Levi (53)

Simhah Levi (93)

Solomon b Ze'eb Levi (= Eliakom Levi)

PLACE NAMES AND OTHER HEBREW NAME-WORDS

 

Amsterdam                                           89

Ansbach                                                 3

Arundel, Sussex                                 69,74

Aub                                    start of register

Balak                                                     19

Bath                                                     24

Bohemia                                               36

Bordgis                                                            91

Brighton, Sussex                         69,70,101

Bruck                                                    50

Cowes                                                  38

Doctor                                               18,93

Drucker                                                 64

Dürckheim                                            16

Emden                                                  60

Erlangen                                              1,46

Exeter                                           77,78,83

Franconia                            start of register

Fulda                                                    13

Fürth                                                       5

Gosport, Hants.                                             52,67

Hamburg                                               81

Hartheim                                               40

Ilfeld                                                     65

Jeweller                                             48,57

Königsberg                                          8,11

Klinger                                                  24

Lautersbach                                          13

London                                        16,19,110

Lublin                                                   20

Massbach (?)                                        42

Melrin                                                  6;95

Michelbach                                           33

Mosbach (?)                                          42

Neustadt (?)                                          55

Norwich                                                28

Odenwald                                             19

Plymouth                                      40,62,88

Poole, Dorset                                    73,76

Raubach                                               54

Rintel                                                    89

Rochford, Essex                       97,103,109

Sennfeld                                               19

Sommerach                                         2,14

Southampton                                        56

Standel                                                   7

Swabia                                                   1

Terkum                                                 16

Trobey                                                  111

Watchmaker                                          86

Wetzlar                                                 18

Wiesenfeld                           4,9,17,25,27,32

Winchester                            6,15;95,99,108

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

INDEX OF ENGLISH SURNAMES

(Fathers only, with each's first entry only)

 

AARON, Philip (?)                                  104

ABRAHAM, Israel                                    69

ABRAHAMS, Simon                                86

BARNARD, David                                 103

BARNARD, Philip                                    97

CHAPMAN, Joseph                                 82

DAVIDS, Lemle                                       44

DE JONG, Solomon Jacob(s) - see JACOBS

ELKIN, Isaac                                           54

EMANUEL, Michael                               100

EMANUEL, Samuel                                 19

EMDEN, Michael                                     60

FRANKLIN, Lewis                                  110

HART, Lazarus                                         3

HART, Moses                                          64

ISAAC, Joel                                    see text

ISAAC, Levy                                   see text

ISAAC(S), Samuel                                   73

ISAAC(S), Solomon                                 46

ISRAEL, Arnold - see JOHNSON

ISRAEL, Israel                                         77

JACOBS, Michael                                    43

JACOBS (DE JONG), Solomon                89

JOHNSON, Arnold ISRAEL                      94

JONAS (?)                                         13; 52

LARA, Benjamin                                      93

LAZARUS, Judah                                     2

LAZARUS, Lewis                                   105

LAZARUS, Simon                                    26

LEVI, Benjamin                                     19,21

LEVI, Jacob                                            35

LEVI (-VY), Joseph                                   6

LEVI, Moses                                           12

LEVY, Henry                                           42

LEVY, Joseph - see Joseph LEVI

LEVY (-VI), Joseph                                  68

LEVY, Solomon                                                  76

LYONS, Charles                                      95

MICHAEL, Henry                                     22

MORDECAI, Israel                                    1

MORDECAI, Samuel                                53

MOSES, Abraham                                   62

MOSES, Barnett                                      55

MOSES, Judah                                       40

MOSES, Lazarus                                      5

MOSES, Levi (i)                                                   4

MOSES, Levi (ii)                                      21

MOSES, Phineas                                    67

MYERS, Joseph (or David)                      65

NATHAN, Asher                           82

NATHAN,.Gabriel                                     33

NATHAN, Jacob                                    102

NATHAN, Philip                                       81

SIMONS, Woolf                                                  24

SIMPSON, Henry                                     50

ZACHARIAH, Isaac                                  36